MY ADVICE FOR COLLEGE STUDENTS THAT HAVE PERSONAL ISSUES OUTSIDE OF THE CLASSROOM

Written by: Abbie-Gail Harris, Senior Broadcasting Major at APSU

Everyone has obstacles in life that they go through. Some may overcome their issues quicker than most, but that does not mean you give up. I went through it, made some mistakes, and learned from them.

The first time I went through something as a college student was my freshman year. My grandmother died and it was the first time I have ever lost someone I am close to. I stopped going to classes, left the country for a little while, and the only thing I got out of it was a low grade point average. Imagine trying to recover from a 1.5 GPA. It is the hardest thing to overcome as a student, in my eyes.

I thought failing my classes would be the only drastic mistake that I would make as a young adult in college, but it was not. I made a couple more and I suffered the consequences. I let certain obstacles alter my existence in class. I would show up late, or not show up at all, but it was only because I was sad and scared to leave my room. Even though I would explain this to my professors, it still looked bad on me.

I learned to change my habits no matter what I go through. I noticed being in college is a way to practice being professional for when I enter the real world. Showing up to class late every day is a bad look. If you show up early or on time, then your professors see that and it will open up opportunities for you individually. I became a better person for myself and create habits that will reflect on my future.

My advice for anyone going through something is to not give up. Go to class and if you absolutely cannot make it, let your professors know. Have a great reason because if you keep missing class, then you are missing out on a lesson that you paid for. There is so much you can miss over the course of one day. Stay true to yourself and have your own back.

 

“A dream doesn’t become reality through magic; it takes sweat, determination and hard work.” –Colin Powell

Leave a Reply

