How Did I Even Get Here?

Abbey Neely, Senior Public Relations Major, Austin Peay State University

Everyone has some reason why they have chosen to pursue what they pursue in life. It might be in the family, it might peak their interest, or they might even be in it for the money. Whatever the reason is, everybody has one. I have always been interested in why people do what they do, and so I decided to share today why I chose to pursue Public Relations, especially when I came to this university wanting to do something completely different.

I hated my existing major.

When I entered my first full-time year of college after high school, I came in as an elementary education major. Completely different from Communication, I know. At the time I thought it was a good idea. I liked lesson planning and the idea of being in a classroom teaching, and I loved children. However, I soon discovered that my love for children did not extend to being with the same 25-30 of them eight hours a day, five days a week. I soon grew increasingly irritable and annoyed, and before I knew it, I was hating the idea of my college career. I knew I had to change my major soon before I became a seven-year senior.

I’ve always been interested in appearance.

This doesn’t necessarily mean the way individual people look, but more so the way people, organizations and ideas appear to other people. Public Relations sparked my curiosity because those in this profession make a living by enhancing and preserving the appearance and essence of a person, organization, company, etc., and I thought that might be something that I enjoy pursing.

I’m very logical.

Logistics is very much a part of my everyday life. Everything has a plan and a back-up plan. Heck, my life exists in my planner. People always told me I’d do well in a field like Public Relations because my need for logistics is exactly what a company would be look for to preserve their brand. I also feel like people such as myself, who put in a conscious effort to make sure all points of something are addressed, are more likely to catch something someone else might miss.

It was for all of these reasons that I decided to steer my course towards a degree in Communication, and since then I have never once regretted it. I feel more myself than ever when I’m working in something Communication and Public Relations related. Since making the decision to switch majors, I encourage everyone now to pursue what brings them joy. A paycheck is really nice, but sacrificing a slight dip in pay (maybe) in exchange for doing something that you love seems like the best choice to me.

Leave a Reply

